HORROR HAIKUS

pupmpkins 003

Just a silly idea I had, because people are posting drabbles and two sentence horror stories.  So why not haikus?  Here are my first few attempts.

You think you’re safe here

In the crowd, the crush of flesh.

I’m right behind you.

 

Rose’s are red now

They were lighter before I

Made the incision

 

You smile when I say

I’m going to let you go now.

I’m such a liar.

 

Please be a monster

Sent from Hell to eat children

Not Daddy again.

 

Keep the curtains closed

So that we know the monster

Isn’t really there.

 

Time to reminisce

Might as well while punctured lungs

Slowly fill with blood.

 

Walking through the woods

You spot me in the shadows

Should have got the bus

 

Phone beeps. Text. You read

“Your hair looks nice.” You look round

Your eyes are nice too.

 

Come to Aunt Lucy

I know a place we can play

I’ll teach you the game.

 

Piles of little bones

Each topped with a child-sized skull

Lovingly polished.

 

Footsteps, heavy breathing.

Faster, catching up.  You turn.

Snick, squelch, drip.  Too late.

 

Curtains twitch, peek out.

Empty street. Relax.  But I’m

Already inside.

 

Say that again please.

No, not you Doctor. I meant

The voice in my head.

Leave a Reply

